Sergio Leone Web Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 18, 2017, 01:14:49 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
News:

+  Sergio Leone Web Board
|-+  General Information
| |-+  General Discussion (Moderators: cigar joe, moviesceleton, Dust Devil)
| | |-+  why aren't Westerns made anymore???/ western script
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: why aren't Westerns made anymore???/ western script  (Read 3958 times)
Antonia
Road Apple

View Profile
« on: April 08, 2005, 02:02:33 PM »

Hi,
first off all, I'm new and I think it's great to have a board only about the great Sergio Leone!
I'm studying Film and I'm asking myself for a long time now why Westerns aren't made anymore? Does anyone have any ideas? Huh
I'm determined to write a Western script after I finished the one I'm writing currently. Anyone else out there writing a western script? Huh

cigar joe
Bounty Killer

easy come easy go

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2005, 05:03:13 PM »

They are made but not in any great numbers, we are lucky if we get one a year out of Hollywood. HBO has Deadwood, which is very SW in nature in that its cynical and not  Disneyfied candy coated  melodrama or spoon fed idealism. But its just a drama.

Leone created western mythology.

After all the pulp fiction stories, Buffalo Bill's Wild West Show, and sixty-one years of Hollywood telling western stories and essentially building up a "code of the west" Leone came along and distilled down it down in to pure essence so to speak.

His no nonsence "ultimate westerns" mythologised the iconic characters to the extent  that in my opinion not many can approach that same plateau.

You can create western based stories with realistic charaters but they will seem human and not iconic Western Mythology.   Its hard to explain.

« Last Edit: April 08, 2005, 05:12:53 PM by cigar joe » Logged

"When you feel that rope tighten on your neck you can feel the devil bite your ass"!
cigar joe
Bounty Killer