Sergio Leone Web Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 18, 2017, 03:34:27 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
News:

+  Sergio Leone Web Board
|-+  Films of Sergio Leone
| |-+  The Good, The Bad and The Ugly (Moderators: cigar joe, moviesceleton, Dust Devil)
| | |-+  Restored Version at the Music Box...
Pages: [1] 2 3 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Restored Version at the Music Box...  (Read 11376 times)
General Sibley
Gunslinger

AngelEyes, NOOOO!

View Profile
« on: August 11, 2003, 04:33:16 PM »

Hey, newbie here.

Just saw the restored version at the Music Box in Chicago, old movie palace.

This is where I first saw the film as a 9 year old kid back in 1967.  My cousins lived 2 blocks from the theater, and we saw GBU 3 times in the summer of '67.   Each time we would leave the theater all hyped up with excitement, not really being able to explain what we had seen but knowing we'd experienced something incredible.

It's still an incredible movie, it's amazing how well it's held up after almost 40 years.  What I found kind of interesting seeing it again on the big screen is how diminished Eastwood is.  On TV, he commands the screen but in 35mm he doesnt have nearly the same presense.  But Tuco & Angel Eyes blew me away.  The opening scenes with Angel Eyes are insane, epecially when he first dismounts his horse and his first closeup silhouettes that face against the blue desert sky.  The coolest establishing shot ever.  Superb, he IS evil incarnate, especially the scene in the hacienda, "And some in gold...a tidy sum"    Grin

Totally different experience in 35mm, you need to go see it ASAP.  

« Last Edit: March 11, 2004, 12:58:51 PM by General Sibley » Logged

And what if your hand should shake a little?  And that Gringo so fast on the draw.
cigar joe
Bounty Killer

easy come easy go

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2003, 04:48:51 PM »