Sergio Leone Web Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
January 31, 2023, 12:26:44 AM
:

+  Sergio Leone Web Board
|-+  Films of Sergio Leone
| |-+  The Good, The Bad and The Ugly (Moderators: cigar joe, moviesceleton, Dust Devil)
| | |-+  The Genius of the Blondie & Confederate Soldier Scene
0 and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
: [1] 2 3 4
: The Genius of the Blondie & Confederate Soldier Scene  ( 4360 )
Jenko Morningstar
Chicken Thief

Sergio Leone & Comic Book Fan

« : November 04, 2022, 06:24:06 PM »

I watched this movie last year, and I'm no film expert (more of a comic book nerd!) but just upon first viewing, it became my favorite of all the ones I've seen. Seen it like 40 times already, and not exaggerating. The thing I love the most about this story is how it handled its social commentary on war.

It shows the Civil War as a background conflict that sometimes interferes with the story, and manages to do it in a very organic and natural way. It doesn't feel forced AT ALL, and doesn't take away from the spectacle and the fun aspect of it all. These moments mostly document the tragedies and horrors of war, a raw observation of mankind and the saddest aspects of it. It felt a little too depressing and nihilistic to me at first, thought it was brilliantly handled, but wasn't in love with it because I think stories nowadays have an excess of those two.

Now, up to the point where Tuco and Blondie were walking to the cemetery I didn't know how to feel about Blondie. This was the first Dollar movie (the first Western, actually) I'd seen and didn't know if he was good or bad, but he certainly came off as a jerk who's only interested in personal gain. The death of the Captain was a relatively good action, but it wasn't like Blondie did that purely as a gesture of good faith, since it's all about getting across the river to get the money in the end.