Sergio Leone Web Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 24, 2021, 10:59:43 AM
:

+  Sergio Leone Web Board
|-+  Films of Sergio Leone
| |-+  The Good, The Bad and The Ugly (Moderators: cigar joe, moviesceleton, Dust Devil)
| | |-+  Tuco's water gun
0 and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
: [1]
: Tuco's water gun  ( 3350 )
The Firecracker
Bounty Killer

Rub me the wrong way, and I'll go off in your face

« : February 21, 2008, 07:05:51 PM »

How can Tuco's gun fire at Mulloch if it had been submerged in the water?
I'm no firearm expert but wouldn't the gunpowder get wet and thus become useless?

You can argue he had the gun just above the water and below the bubbles but wouldn't it had been more convenient just to take the gun off?

Edit: Sorry for adding yet another thread title with the word "gun" to this section.

« : February 21, 2008, 07:06:56 PM The Firecracker »

The Official COMIN' AT YA! re-release site
http://cominatyanoir3d.com/
cigar joe
Bounty Killer

easy come easy go

« #1 : February 21, 2008, 08:11:10 PM »

Well if its chambered with cartridges they could get wet and still fire. A bullet cartridge is sealed by the bullet seated in the brass rimfire cartridge the powder stays dry even if submerged. (which is what Tuco has) But I wouldn't recomend that, guns rust unless they are modern stainless steel guns, and don't believe Tuco submerged it which is the why of the bubbles.

Now if it was a cap & ball cylinder then you'd have more problems with moisture, the seal where the cap fits over the nipple which is the direct access to the black powder could be a problem. 

But ususally back then when you reloaded you'd pour the black powder into each cylinder bore then put a patch cloth over the bore hole, place a lead ball (or cylindrical bullet) over the patch cloth and then seat the ball into the cylinder bore. Then do the next, and the next untill all six are loaded.